Removing Oil stains on asphalt driveway

/ Removing Oil stains on asphalt driveway #61  
No offense, but everyone saying asphalt is just oil, had no idea what they are talking about. It is made out of petroleum or oil, but so is Styrofoam, and you wouldn't put lacquer thinner/WD40, hydralic fluid, gasoline, in that.

Chipseal is Not oil, and gravel! It's either an AC or an asphalt emulsion (think hot mop roofing). Sometimes it has additional rubber binders.

Not playing like I'm a true expert, but I've been involved in inspecting asphalt for something like 16 years. I've seen what 5 gal can of hydralic does, what diesel does, what 'mild' solvents like odorless mineral spirits do.

Detergents, soaps, sand, kitty litter, saw dust, sweeping compound, won't hurt at all, and will absorb or clean the 'free' oil if any is left on the surface. Mild heat will evaporate some of it, and help blend. Adding solvents is only going to make what is Mostly a visual surface problem into a Much bigger one.

/ Removing Oil stains on asphalt driveway #62  
Evein with a Weed Torch it is a huge job. I would try spreading the lane with dry sand ½" thick or so and just leave it. Some oil may be absorbed. Will the Homeowners Insurance cover)!) the problem? Get the Paving company involved for pro solutions.

/ Removing Oil stains on asphalt driveway #63  
I have had good luck with the purple DEP cleaner available at Home Dep when cleaning hydro oil off concrete. The problem will be that the oil will soak into asphault if you don't get it right away so the best you can do is get it off the surface. You might had caught most of it with the littler. The good thing is that the staining that is left will mostly weather away.

/ Removing Oil stains on asphalt driveway #64