Checking the timing on a Kubota L2500

/ Checking the timing on a Kubota L2500 #1  

RobJ

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L2500
In my quest to conquer my overheating problem, this weekend I checked the timing per the manual. Really pretty simple.

1) I removed the fuelline on #1 injector at the pump, rotate the engine until you see fuel move in the delivery tube. You want to stop at the slightest movement.

2) When I did this for a living I used this tool. Sort of a sight glass to easily see the fuel move. I would have to remove the intake manafold to put this on so I bypasses it.

3) remove the side place on the bell housing and observe the timing marks. you can see the 20 degrees on the right, the line on the left is 15 degrees. Specs call for 17-19 degrees. The camera angle might be off but I'm pretty much right on 17 degrees.

No adjustments on the timing today. But those remembing my overheating woesI have some sort of good news. I ran the L pretty hard pulling a disk. The temp got a little over the half way mark and remained there. However it was a cool day, we''ll see this summer.

Rob

Attachments

• timing1.JPG
    timing1.JPG
    279.1 KB · Views: 3,374
  • timing2.JPG
    timing2.JPG
    111.8 KB · Views: 3,061
  • timing3.JPG
    timing3.JPG
    172 KB · Views: 3,135
   / Checking the timing on a Kubota L2500 #2