New starter, now no power at ignition key.

/ New starter, now no power at ignition key. #1  

bdoug

Tractor
Farmtrac 360 DTC
My girlfriend's grandfather has a Farmtrac 360 DTC that suffered damage to the left floor plate by the clutch pedal. He bent it back out, verified the clutch safety switch was working, and on trying to start it back up, the starter smoked and perished. He replaced the starter, but now cannot get ANY response whatsoever with the battery connected. When the key is put in the run position, there is no horn, light, gauge, dash light, nothing! I pulled every fuse, relay, and wiring harness and can't find the issue.

I am not certain the starter was wired correctly before I started working on it. Can anyone share a picture of the starter solenoid and the wires that need to be connected? I'm a pretty competent mechanic, but I've never worked on a tractor. I don't see a ground for the starter, and assume it grounds where it bolts on the frame. I have the positive battery cable, an alternator wire, and another, unidentified wire connected at the top of the starter solenoid, the black spade connector wire on its terminal, and then the starter motor wire on the bottom of the solenoid.

I have checked all the fuses in the block with the continuity setting on my multimeter. They are good. I checked the battery, it is sitting pretty at 12.6 volts. I checked all the relays on the firewall with jumper wires. They all click like they are good.

We noticed that when the battery was connected, the fuel stop solenoid opened, stayed open, and got very hot. It perished, and we replaced it. Now, the solenoid doesn't click, and it's still dead at the ignition switch.

Any ideas?
Thanks!

/ New starter, now no power at ignition key. #2  
not a clue about your tractor, and talking out my rear. maybe something will ring a bell.

the ignition switch itself is bad?

a wiring harness plug is corroded / came on plugged.