Change oil in fall or spring?

/ Change oil in fall or spring? #1  

dgermann

Tractor
Dixon 5425
Hi--

Probably a simple question for all you gurus--

Should I change my oil in the fall or the spring? I have a Dixon 5425.

I had decided to change the oil in the spring, figuring to have fresh to begin the new season. My son says not to leave the gunky old stuff in the engine over the winter. Since we have a warm spell right now, I could probably get it started and warmed enough to change the oil over this weekend....

/ Change oil in fall or spring? #2  
I'm not an expert, but I used to own motorcycles in the great white north. The thinking was that you put fresh oil in at the end of the season as old oil contains a good bit of the stuff that is harmful to metal. In the spring you might have some water in the oil from condensation depending on where it is stored but that will burn off after its first use of the new season. I would regularly find water all over the cases of my Harley while it sat on the cement in the garage. Screwey wife thought the living room was no place for a bike........WOMEN!!!/w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

Jeff

/ Change oil in fall or spring? #3  
It is best to change the oil before any period of storage (in the fall for a lawn mower... in the spring for a snowblower). The reason for this is that acids (by-product of cumbustion) build up in motor oil... not a horrible thing if the engine is brought to operating temperature every so often (motor oils are designed to deal with it... that is what the TBN - total base number - is all about). However, if an engine has the opportunity to gather condensed moisture in the crankcase (while sitting), this moisture can react with the acid deposits and cause damage...

/ Change oil in fall or spring?
Jeff--

Yeah, go figure.

Thanks for the feedback.

Steve--

Thanks. Good advice.