Help me choose a 7mm-08 Youth Rifle for my Grandson

/ Help me choose a 7mm-08 Youth Rifle for my Grandson #11  
Any advice I can give would be based on 30 year old information as although I once was a competent competition shooter and worked at one of the busiest firearms stores on the east coast I have been pursuing other knowledge and interests for 30 years.

If I may...

Everyone shoots a used gun so one is often better off buying a used firearm.

If the young man is comfortable and accurate shooting the Ruger .44 carbine it may be wise to let him use that for another year or so until he grows into a full size rifle.

Any quality rifle will last the average shooter, if treated well, a lifetime. Attempting to buy him a lifetime rifle at his age is unwise as his tastes and likes will change several times in his lifetime.

An aside...
I bought a used Mossberg 500 12 ga when I started shooting trap in the late 1970's I used it for four seasons and the last two seasons I fired over 6500 rounds through it each season. It did not survive the start of the fifth season. So I have some knowledge on the wear and tear on firearms.

/ Help me choose a 7mm-08 Youth Rifle for my Grandson
Good post. I woud very open to a used rifle.

/ Help me choose a 7mm-08 Youth Rifle for my Grandson #13  
An aside...
I bought a used Mossberg 500 12 ga when I started shooting trap in the late 1970's I used it for four seasons and the last two seasons I fired over 6500 rounds through it each season. It did not survive the start of the fifth season. So I have some knowledge on the wear and tear on firearms.
The difference between the 870 I saved all summer for as a kid and the 870 my son got six years ago make me sade. I think the difference is accross the board.

/ Help me choose a 7mm-08 Youth Rifle for my Grandson #14