Sharpening drill bits

/ Sharpening drill bits #1  

beowulf

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3410 HST, J Deere riding mower
I will put my collection of dull drill bits up against anyones - both in terms of the number of bits and how dull they are. I guess I have a problem tossing them. Anyway, yesterday after trying a number of bits to get a job done and finding none of them sharp enough, I thought about either tossing them or considering a bit sharpener. I have no experience with any kind of bit sharpener, so before I toss them, my question: Do they work at all? What kinds are there? Recommendations? Is it worth it to even try?

Thanks to all who can help.,

/ Sharpening drill bits #2  
Do a search on this site. There are alot of posts about bit sharpeners.

/ Sharpening drill bits
Do a search on this site. There are alot of posts about bit sharpeners.
Thanks, grs. Great idea. No need to have a re-do here. I will do that. Usually I will do a search but I don't always have luck finding the threads. Much appreciated.

/ Sharpening drill bits #4  
I got a Drill Doctor. I got their top of the line model for the added versatility. It takes awhile to go through your drill bit collection but it seems to do a good job. I went through all my bits because, like you, I could never seem to find a sharp one when needed. If you want to trash your old bits instead throw them my way. I'll even pay reasonable postage.

/ Sharpening drill bits #5  
Get a good stone for your grinder and practice sharpening by hand. Grab a drill gauge to use for accurate 60 degree angles until you get it down. Sounds like you have lots of bits to practice on.

By learning to do it by hand you can sharpen a bit anywhere there is a grinder.

/ Sharpening drill bits #6