Pressure relief valve to ease quick couplings

/ Pressure relief valve to ease quick couplings #1  

PTWannaHave

Silver Member
Tractor
1997 Cub Cadet 2185; 2015 PT-1430
Hello all,

I've been reading the forums a lot lately regarding the challenges of using the quick couplers when under pressure.

Some good suggestions came up, such as stopping the engine and cycling the aux. PTO handle. However, I don't recall a good solution for the snow blower that happens to have been sitting outside in full sun... It would annoy me to no end to drive up to it to use it, and not be able to make the hydraulic connection because of the built up pressure in the attachment's hoses/circuit.

I thought there must be a better way than a hammer and pin...??!! (Btw, I have zero experience with hydraulics.) I thought that there must be a device/fitting that can be plumbed in the circuit to relieve pressure (without spilling) before using the QDs...

I imagined an inline T-type fitting mounted between the hyd. motor and one of the hoses, where a screw (that can never come out) is backed out 1/4-3/4 of a turn to relieve pressure. Go attach your hoses, and then come back to turn screw back in.

An employee at a store that sells hydraulic components tells me he's never seen such a thing... I found the following online that are representative of a possible solution?:

Pressure Relief Valve: RECTUS GmbH: Quick Coupling Division Europe

Holmatro - Mastering Power - Products - System components - Couplers - Pressure relief valve

For now, I've made a mental note that if I ever own hydraulic-powered attachments, store them in the shade...!! :( In my search for a solution, I came across the following that appear to be better couplers than standard AG couplers: