DeWalt battery compatibility - 18V

/ DeWalt battery compatibility - 18V #1  

RobertN

Tractor
New Holland TC40D
   / DeWalt battery compatibility - 18V #2  
I can't answer your question, but I found it cheaper to buy new tools (which came with new batteries) than to replace batteries for my old Dewalt setup (I got a drill, an impact driver, and a recip saw - the Dewalt small circ saw was useless as it would get maybe 4 2x4 cuts on a brand new battery when new, and I have other flashlights). I sold the old Dewalt set for $85 on craigslist with the 2 or 3 so-so batteries I had; that $85 almost paid for the drill & driver & 1 battery & charger, and my recip saw & battery cost $50 (Ryobi stuff). Bonus is instead of a drill that serves as a driver, I have one of each now (with the easy change chuck for the driver) and the newer recip saws have a tool-less blade change - so convenient!

gg. I just looked at that link - $105 for a freekin' battery?!

/ DeWalt battery compatibility - 18V #3  
I have an older DeWalt 18v tool pack; drill/driver, recip saw, small circular saw, flashlight and charger. I've gone thru a couple sets of batteries. Current batteries are on their last legs.

Do 18V Lithium batteries work on the older tools? This Home Depot link makes it sound like a lithium battery(and lithium charger) should work

DEWALT 18-Volt XRP Lithium-Ion Extended Runtime Battery Pack 2.Ah-DC9182 - The Home Depot

The newer lithiums generally work in the older tools that originally came with NiCad batts. The NiCads have a memory and the technology was generally replaced with lithium. So if the the voltage and connection type is the same it should work.
If I recall the older dewalt batts have screws in the case (instead of being welded/glued shut) and can be "rebuilt." I think they look like AA batts soldered together. You'd still need a new charger if you went with Lithium.