Rotary Cutter What size rotary cutter for a NH TC33DA?

/ What size rotary cutter for a NH TC33DA? #1  

Hughman

Gold Member
Tractor
NH TC33DA
I'm looking to buy a cutter. My tractor has 27 PTO HP. I'm cutting about 5 acres of tall (2-3') grass/weeds a few times a year. I have rolling hills (Sierra foothills). I started shopping for a 6' cutter (woods bb72x, rhino 172, land pride 1872, ...), but now I'm wondering if I should scale back to a 5' due to the mower weight, pto hp and hills. Rear tires are loaded and there is a FEL out front. I've been using a JD 155c big box mower for the last 10 years to do this job, but it's not really the best tool for the job.

Advice anyone?

/ What size rotary cutter for a NH TC33DA? #2  
Although you could probably sneak by with a 6' cutter (going slow or making partial passes in thicker growth), I think you'd be happier with a 5' unit.

Somebody, sooner or later, will bring up the 5 PTO HP per foot "rule". Well, I ran a 5' Landpride cutter behind a 17 PTO HP Deere 670 (slow going, and it bogged down now and than) and a 24 PTO HP Deere790.

/ What size rotary cutter for a NH TC33DA? #3  
I have a TC34DA which has 29 pto hp and run a Bushhog Squealer 5'. Like you I also have loaded rear tires and a FEL although I usually mow with the bucket off. Believe my tractor would handle a 6' cutter with little extra effort as the 5 footer seems to put little strain on tractor. At the same time my tractor does have 2 more hp than the TC33. Seems you are right on the line between 5 and 6 footer. If you went with a 5 footer there should be no concern you would have enough tractor to do the job.

/ What size rotary cutter for a NH TC33DA? #4