Massey or Allis for 60 acre farm?

/ Massey or Allis for 60 acre farm? #1  

EdselDave

Tractor
allis
The wife is inheriting the old family farm in a few weeks. We plan to build a small house and move there. Her cousin is going to lease the 60 acre hay field one more year. After that I'll likely work my way into mowing and bailing hay. I've like the idea of using older equipment. I drive a 65 Galaxie everyday for instance. I'm also an auto mechanic by trade. I'm considering buying either an early 60's Massey 50 with a perkins diesel or a late 50's Allis d-17 gas. Both are wide front tractors. I know both of these tractors were designed to work small farms when they were new, so I like to think I'm not crazy wanting to work them like were designed to be used. Any thoughts of my choices? Maybe someone tried this and found anything pre-70's wasnt practical to use on a farm of this size? Thanks.

/ Massey or Allis for 60 acre farm? #2  
Any thoughts of my choices?

The Allis D17 may or may not have a tractor industry standard (Ferguson) Three Point Hitch.

D17 at 4,600 pounds bare tractor is a light 2-WD tractor for haying 60 acres.

Allis Chalmers D17​

Tractor hitch
Rear Type:II*
Type:Snap-Coupler

I speculate parts for the Allis produced engines may be very scarce.

Allis Chalmers D17 Engine​

Allis Chalmers D17 tractor photo
1957 - 1967
D Series
Row-Crop tractor

Last edited:
   / Massey or Allis for 60 acre farm? #5  
When I was young we (my father) baled with a Farmall 400 and I mowed and hauled with an Allis WD. They did
the job. Then we went up with the Farmall 560 on the baler and the 400 to hauling with.
The 560 was a much better tractor for baling. The 560 is around 60 HP.

Small squares on 60 acres of hay is going to be a lot of labor. With out a stack wagon and a hay shed built for a stack wagon
it certainly would not be a one man show.