I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL

/ I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL #1  

rsmith02184

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 4100
hello

i am completely new to tractor owning. i have a JD4100 with FEL (410) and i was using it to move logs and one slipped and hit the hydraulic inlet on the lift piston (sorry, i don't know any of the correct terms, but, it is where the hydraulic line goes into the lift arm and it is threaded).

how can i fix this or do i need to get a new one?

thanks

/ I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL #2  
Is the fitting on the hydraulic hose broken or is it the female port that is welded to the cylinder ? The attached pic shows the inlet port on a simple hydraulic cylinder.

If the hose fitting is broke, a repair or replacement will be fairly inexpensive at your local dealer. If its the cylinder port, you'll need to have some welding done.

Attachments

• 824366-junk.JPG
    824366-junk.JPG
    4 KB · Views: 242
   / I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL #3  
rsmith,
Is the hydraulic cylinder is a female connection. If it is you might of just broke off the fitting that threads into it. Use an easy out to take out the broken fitting and install a new one.

Ron

/ I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL
i broke the female port right at the seam where it joins the cylinder.

if i choose to weld it (my father-in-law has a welder) do i have to take it off the FEL to weld it? Do I want to disconnect the hydraulic quick connects from the tractor to the FEL before doing any work on the leak?

thanks

/ I broke the hydraulic inlet to my 410 FEL #5  
I'm not sure what is involved in welding on a hydraulic cylinder. I suggest starting a new thread in the 'parts/repairs' general forum. I would use a subject title something like 'How do I weld a hydraulic cylinder.' You are more likely to get responses if you specify what you need in the subject.Then describe the type of repair that you have listed here. Good luck