Dads old 8n not firing up

/ Dads old 8n not firing up #1  

Danielball

Tractor
1951 ford 8n
My dad passed away in March of last year. He left behind what I think is a 1951 model 8n. A few days after he passed I charged the battery and fired it up and drove it around for an hour or so, parked it and disconnected battery. Covered it up with an old car cover. About a month ago I went back to moms to scrape her driveway and the 8n wouldn’t fire up. I think the gas maybe is bad. It’s definitely getting fuel to carburetor but I noticed fuel has a funny smell, almost watered down. I’m no mechanic but I know a little. Any suggestions?

/ Dads old 8n not firing up #2  
If you suspect fuel, drain/siphon and refill. Add stabilizer this time. Pull hose from carb and drain a quart, make sure battery is up, and have a jump vehicle, give it a good crank, add just a hint of starting fluid, don't crank for over a minute without a five minute rest. Report back if that doesn't do it.

Best,

ed

/ Dads old 8n not firing up #3  
Check spark before getting too far along the fuel path.
It takes both fuel and spark to fire.
Weathered points will cause a no start condition sure as the sun comes up in the East.

/ Dads old 8n not firing up #4  
There's at least half dozen things that commonly cause a crank-no-start. Test one at the time starting with easiest until problem is found. Spark is easy to pull a plug wire and look for spark. Old tractors and cars from that period were easy to flood when they were 5 years old so 72 years old it's hard not to flood one. I would turn fuel off to take flooding out of the picture and try starting fluid just to see if it will hit then go back to gas if it does.

/ Dads old 8n not firing up #5