Bermuda Seeding

/ Bermuda Seeding #1  

MPrewitt

Tractor
2009 Kubota MX5100
In October 2008 we seeded rye grass in order to get some grass down for the winter and the rainy season.

Now it is time to re-seed with a more perminate grass, we have picked Bermuda, we have purchased the seeds and boy are they super small seeds.

The question I have is to I need to cultivate/till the rye grass under? (I am in East Texas)
If so how deep should I set the tines on the tiller?
Or just seed right on top of the rye grass?

What if anything do I need to mix with the seeds? fertilizer? sand? or both:confused::confused:
I am concerended that since the seeds are so small the will dispense at a greater rate than I want them to and not get the coverage that I should with the amount of seed that I bought.

Murray

/ Bermuda Seeding #2  
Wow Good Luck M.P. I'll be watching this one I wish you the best.

/ Bermuda Seeding #3  
I am no expert but I used fine sifted dry sand in a five gallon bucket to mix before I sow bemuda. The rye will not die out until it gets a little hotter and dryer so I would set the tiller to just break the surface and till the rye under, followed by seed/sand/fertilizer. Then drag it to cover the seed with 1/4" or less of soil and water until you almost go broke. The ground temp needs to be at least into the 70's for bemuda go do well germinating so good luck. Of course once you get it going you can't stop it, but it takes about two weeks of work to get it up out of the ground.

/ Bermuda Seeding #4  
I have always heard to add sand to the seed so you can broadcast it more evenly. I am not sure where you are in Texas but around here in N. Georgia you would wait until mid June to seed Bermuda. It wants warm to hot weather to get going.

MarkV

/ Bermuda Seeding
Thanks Guys,

I'll add sand in with the seed, is it a 50/50 ratio?

Is it better to fertilize while seeding or wait until the grass starts comming up then fertilize?

/ Bermuda Seeding #6