Home Built truck camper

/ Home Built truck camper #1  

deepNdirt

Veteran Member
Tractor
yanmar YM-1700
any engineers here or anyone can figure out the correct support/bracing area's for a Home built slide in truck camper? I have been thinking of how difficult it would be to Build a camper, I have great carpenter skills 35 years worth and some proclaim that I should be a master carpenter, so any wood work I can handle, and I'm a Farley good welder , so I'm pretty confident I should get the job done, although I would need to know the appropriate area's of which the bracing and any load transfer will need to be?
My plans are to build as simple of a camper as possible and to limit the curve lines to more straight lines, I will work out the front and aerodynamics later, the measurements are just a rough figures,
Please look at the drawing and advise of where and how I should brace this thing,? I have also attached a Blank drawing that could be used to draw in the bracings/supports, Once I get all the correct supports in place I can do a material takeoff to determine an estimated cost, By the way I think 1x2 square tubbing is what I would use? what you think?
I have also attached a picture of what I would be working toward building,
Thanks all

Last edited:
   / Home Built truck camper #3  
Any time I tackle a project like that I overbuild it to the point it is too heavy to haul. If you looked inside the walls of a factory camper, you would be afraid to use it.

/ Home Built truck camper #4  
Buddy built one last year, or he built an rv. Regular tow behind. . I put a bunch of pics here. The first post has a link to the full album.

main.php

/ Home Built truck camper #5